Meditation explained

Ease of stillness

Ease of stillness

There are many ways to meditate.
To me, meditation means to close my eyes and (either sit up or lie down) focus on my breathing, while releasing resistance with the out-breath and allowing the feeling of wellbeing with the in-breath.

If you’re new to this, it’s like learning to drive a car. It takes a little practice, but then it becomes easy.

Find a way that works for you. At first, you might want to count each in-breath and out-breath until you get to 10. An easy task once a day.

(If you’re an advanced meditator, you can share your experience with a comment bellow.)

For me, focusing on my breath is simple but profound. My lungs are like an internal hot-air balloon that helps me fly up so that I may align myself with my excitement, with what makes me peaceful and happy moment to moment. It gives me clarity.

That’s the great thing about meditation, it is residual and cumulative. The 20 minutes that we invest in the morning reverberates throughout every interaction of that whole day.

To me, to be healthy means that we are aligned with our inner joy, with who we are in our heart of hearts.

Meditation is like hopping on that internal hot-air balloon and rising up towards the expansive sky’s serenity within us all. Once we are done with our meditation session, then it becomes easy to bring that awareness to our everyday lives.

Meditation is a simple but powerful tool for us to align with the peaceful good feelings that are always available to us. Some days it will be easier than others. But the more we practice, the easier it gets.

We create our very own personal weather forecast everyday. There are many ways to do this, but one of them is to meditate sometime from the moment we wake up, until 12pm. In doing so, we establish, early on, our emotional atmosphere for the rest of our day.

We want to magnetize, mantralize (repeat positive phrases to) ourselves from the moment we wake up so that we get used to creating pleasant, fun experiences throughout our day.

When I get angry, often for silly things, there is an explosion of tension or fire in my body. When I was a teen I would throw and break things in my room, kick my bed and indulge in momentary rage.

Now, that old feeling of anger is a controllable little match-flame (as opposed to the wild fire that it used to be) and it gets rerouted to my trained habit of taking a deep breath, holding it in for a few seconds and exhaling, while I very consciously focus my attention on dissolving the tension out from me. When I am successful, there is space for feelings of peace, creativity, humor and kindness.

And since I’ve gotten a lot of rerouting, recalculating practice, I have begun the practice of laughing at myself the second I start to get upset for something small.

For me, focusing on breathing has been one of the catalysts for all the wonderful experiences I’ve had during and after meditation.

Invest in yourself: create time everyday to do nothing but breathe.

5 to 20 minutes will do.

Sit in a quiet room, on a comfortable chair (or lie down. Sometimes if I’ve been standing for a long time, I will meditate with my back to the floor and my feet on the bed, creating a 90-degree angle with my shins and thighs against the bed).

Focus on your breathing. If a thought comes in, allow it like a bird perching on a branch of your tree; look at it, let it go and then come back to your breathing.

Some days it will be easier. Allow it to be what it is. And if you want to take it further, see how many times you can remember to focus on your breath throughout the day.

What is your favorite way to meditate?

What do you think about all this?
Write a comment: I would love to hear your opinion or experience.

Thank you.

Kind regards,

David Hornak

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

